Breaking News

Nicanor Perlas and Danny Lim Are Official Candidates - COMELEC

More than a month after being disqualified, Nicanor Perlas and Danny Lim are now official candidates for the Philippine elections in May 2010.

Through Resolution 8743, the Comelec en banc announced that presidential aspirant Perlas and Liberal Party senatorial bet Lim have been included in the final list of candidates for the elections.

According to the resolution, Perlas was allowed to participate in the presidential race because of his "distinguished track record in public service" and capacity to launch a nationwide campaign through the environmentalist’s "access to national media" and "organized group of persons… who volunteered to support for his bid for candidacy."

"This is a historical decision… because it sends a message for really qualified candidates of this country that not only money will be the qualification (to run for an elective post), but the vision for Filipinos," Perlas told reporters on Thursday.

Perlas was earlier disqualified on the grounds that he cannot run a nationwide campaign and has no supporters to back him up. Supporters of Perlas launched a worldwide campaign entitled "Let Nick Run" and also had a rally on December 21 upon filling the petition.

On December 28, a hearing was made regarding the disqualified candidates and the COMELEC bow to resolve the issue during the first week of January but was delayed up to this week.

Partido ng Marangal na Sambayanan (PANGMASA) a new political party for new politics and a new Philippines which is inspired by Nicanor Perlas is also accepting members who will work together for this vision. Grace Calleja, PANGMASA Secretariat says that the party is open to all regardless of their gender, religion, social status, and other circumstances.

Nicanor Perlas’ entry in the presidential race raises the number of candidates vying for the highest electoral post in May to nine.

Other presidential candidates includes Senator Benigno “Noynoy" Aquino III (Liberal Party), John Carlos “JC" Delos Reyes (Ang Kapatiran), Joseph M. Ejercito Estrada (Puwersa ng Masang Pilipino – UNO), Sen. Richard J. Gordon (Bagumbayan), Sen. Maria Ana Consuelo “Jamby" A.S. Madrigal (independent), Gilberto C. Teodoro Jr.(Lakas-Kampi-CMD), Eddie C. Villanueva (Bangon Pilipinas), and Sen. Manuel B. Villar Jr. (Nacionalista Party).

Gen. Danny Lim, meanwhile, adds to the list of 58 senatorial candidates for this year's polls. He is currently detained at the PNP Custodial Center in Camp Crame facing rebellion charges before a civilian court and mutiny charges before a military tribunal.


Also Visit My Other Blogs
| Pagod Ka Na Bang Maging si Juan? | Ordinary People, Ordinary Day |